In 1996, a group of devoted citizens, who had a long-standing commitment to education, organized the Muscogee Educational Excellence Foundation. Knowing that much of the success of our community depends on the quality of our local schools, the Foundation strove to enhance the quality of our educational system by focusing on the people who have the most direct impact on our students – the teachers. Through their efforts and the work of succeeding board members, the Muscogee Educational Excellence Foundation has evolved into one of the leading advocates of excellence in public education in our region. The Foundation’s Board of Directors works diligently to foster innovative and effective teachers through the Teacher of the Year program and the teacher grant program.


2018 Board of Directors

Dr. Carole Rutland
Janet DavisĀ 
Past Chair
Steve Davis
Chair Elect
Warren Steele
TOTY Chair
Christine Hull
Brenda Williams

Marquette McKnight
Newt Aaron
Scott Allen
Brian Anderson
Dr. Jim Buntin
Kia Chambers
Rita Ellis
Sheryl Green
Dr. Tom Hackett
Lorette Hoover
Bob Kidd
Dr. Stefan Lawrence
Dr. David Lewis
Bridget Markwood
Allen McMullen
Dr. John Phillips, Jr.
Theresa Robertson
Keith Seifert
Crystal Shahid
Guy Sims
Richard Smith
Judy Thomas
Rob Ward
Dr. David White
Len Williams